top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIM Team

Transportation bill FINALLY passes both chambers - moves to Governor Parson

May 11, 2021 - Following years of work by the Missouri Transportation and Development Council (MTD) and Associated Industries of Missouri (AIM) and lengthy debate by the Missouri House of Representatives that lasted many hours, SB 262, sponsored by Senate President Pro Tem Dave Schatz and handled in the House by Representative Becky Ruth was approved late tonight by the House and sent to Governor Parson. Representative Ruth also serves as Chairwoman of the House Transportation Committee and Chairwoman of the Joint Committee on Transportation Oversight.

Governor Mike Parson, who has made infrastructure improvements a top priority of his administration, was pleased with the outcome.

“I want to recognize Senate President Pro Tem Dave Schatz, Representative Becky Ruth, and Representative Dean Plocher for getting SB 262 across the finish line," said Governor Parson. "This bill provides much needed funding for road and bridge repairs, and we are excited to move forward on these critical infrastructure projects,” he said. "On behalf of MTD, we would like to say congratulations and thank you to the 2021 Missouri Legislature," said Rod Reid, Chairman of the Board of Missouri Transportation and Development Council. "The decision to put together an equitable funding measure will be looked back on by our children and grandchildren as a move to ensure the economic prosperity of Missouri," he said.

"AIM congratulates and thanks Sen. Dave Schatz and Rep. Becky Ruth for their persistent and strong support for this badly needed transportation funding increase that is so important for the safe and efficient transportation system all Missouri businesses need," said Ray McCarty, president and CEO of Associated Industries of Missouri. "We have worked for many years to get a bill through the General Assembly and we look forward to Governor Parson's signature on the bill," he said.

The bill will increase motor fuel taxes by 2.5 cents per year for 5 years (totaling 12.5 cents per gallon when fully phased in), double some alternative fuel vehicle registration fees over five years, and increase larger alternative fuel vehicle fees by 50% over five years. Along with phasing in an increase on alternative-fuel vehicles, the bill will provide more than $500 million in transportation funding before refunds. The bill would allow motor fuel purchasers to retain their receipts and obtain a refund if they desire, very similar to the current process for obtaining refunds for taxes paid on fuel used in boats and off-road vehicles.

CLICK BELOW FOR A FACT SHEET prepared by a coalition that includes AIM and MTD called the Missourians for Transportation Investment and delivered to all House members before the vote:

MFTI Legislative Day 5-4-21
Download PDF • 3.90MB

The House vote was strongly in favor, with 104 voting in favor and 52 voting against - 22 more than the number necessary for passage. Here is how the Representatives voted - please send a note of thanks to those that supported the bill:

AYES: 104

Adams, Aldridge, Anderson, Andrews, Appelbaum, Atchison, Aune, Bangert, Baringer, Barnes, Basye, Billington, John Black (137), Rusty Black (7), Bland Manlove, Bosley, Bromley, Chris Brown (16), Richard Brown (27), Paula Brown (70), Buchheit-Courtway, Burger, Burnett, Burton, Busick, Butz, Clemens, Collins, Derges, Dogan, Doll, Ellebracht, Evans, Falkner, Fishel, Fogle, Francis, Kurtis Gregory (51), Griesheimer, Griffith, Gunby, Haden, Hannegan, Hicks, Houx, Hovis, Hurlbert, Ingle, Johnson, Kalberloh, Kidd, Knight, Patty Lewis (25), Ed Lewis (6), Mackey, McCreery, McGaugh, McGirl, Merideth, Morse, Mosley, Nurrenbern, O'Donnell, Owen, Patterson, Person, Phifer, Pike, Plocher, Porter, Price IV, Proudie, Quade, Railsback, Reedy, Riggs, Roberts, Rogers, Rone, Rowland, Ruth, Sassmann, Mark Sharp (36), Greg Sharpe (4), Shields, Travis Smith (155), David Smith (45), Neil Smith (67), Mike Stephens (128), Martha Stevens (46), Tate, Tim Taylor (48), Terry, Thompson, Turnbaugh, Unsicker, Van Schoiack, Veit, Wallingford, Bridget Walsh Moore (93), Weber, Windham, Wright, and Young.

NOES: 52

Baker, Boggs, Chipman, Christofanelli, Jeff Coleman (32), Mary Elizabeth Coleman (97), Cook, Davidson, Davis, Deaton, DeGroot, Dinkins, Eggleston, Fitzwater, David Gregory (96), Grier, Haffner, Haley, Hardwick, Henderson, Hill, Hudson, Ann Kelley (127), Hannah Kelly (141), Lovasco, Mayhew, McDaniel, Murphy, Perkins, Pietzman, Brad Pollitt (52), Suzie Pollock (123), Pouche, Richey, Riley, Roden, Sander, Schroer, Schwadron, Seitz, Shaul, Simmons, Cody Smith (163), Stacy, Jered Taylor (139), Thomas, Toalson Reisch, Trent, Sara Walsh (50), West, Wiemann, and Speaker Vescovo.


Bailey, Copeland, Cupps, Gray, Sauls, and Schnelting.

SOURCE: Missouri House Journal, May 11, 2021

bottom of page