top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIM Team

New Chair, Vice Chair for Highways and Transportation Commission


Gregg Smith, Clinton, is the new chair of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, and Stephen R. Miller, Kansas City, is the new vice chair. The commission rotated the leadership positions at its monthly meeting yesterday in Jefferson City.

Smith was appointed to the commission in June 2013. Miller has served on the commission since August 2009 and served as chair since 2014. He was vice chair in 2013.

“I’d like to thank Steve for the leadership he’s provided the past two years,” Smith said. “He’s kept MoDOT’s long-term insufficient funding problems at the forefront and worked diligently to build non-partisan support for additional transportation investment in Missouri. I look forward to his continued support as I take over as chair.”

“I would like to personally thank Commissioner Miller for his dedicated service as the MHTC chairman, MoDOT Director Patrick McKenna said. “I would also like to thank him on behalf of all MoDOT employees for the great things he’s done for this organization.

“I also look forward to working with Chairman Smith on delivery of the 21st Century transportation system Missourians deserve.”

Smith is president and owner of Gregg Smith Ford Lincoln, Inc., and Wilder RV. Miller is a partner in the Kansas City law firm Miller Schirger, LLC and focuses much of his practice on the construction industry.

The six-member bipartisan commission governs the Missouri Department of Transportation, the agency responsible for building, operating and maintaining the state highway system and supporting other transportation modes in Missouri.

Other commission members are Michael Pace, West Plains; Tom Waters, Orrick; Mary Nelson, St. Louis; and John Briscoe, New London.



bottom of page