top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIM Team

All Missouri Republican Congressional Members receive 100% ratings in U.S. Chamber’s business

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce Tuesday honored 266 members of the U.S. House of Representatives and 55 members of the U.S. Senate with its annual Spirit of Enterprise Award, given in recognition of their support for pro-growth policies in the second session of the 114th Congress.

The Chamber’s prestigious Spirit of Enterprise Award is given annually to members of Congress based on their votes on critical business legislation as outlined in the Chamber’s annual scorecard, How They Voted. Members who supported the Chamber’s position on at least 70 percent of those votes qualify to receive the award.

All Republicans from the Missouri delegation received 100% ratings based on the Chamber’s business legislation annual scorecard. Democrat Senator Claire McCaskill received a rating of 75% for 2016, enough to receive the Spirit of Enterprise Award for 2016, despite a 49% cumulative rating – meaning she voted with the U.S. Chamber’s position only 49% of the time over her legislative career. In contrast, Republican Senator Roy Blunt received a 100% rating for 2016 and a 93% cumulative rating over his career and he also qualified as a Spirit of Enterprise Award winner.

Associated Industries has outlined both the NAM’s annual ratings and the U.S. Chamber’s annual and cumulative ratings for Missouri’s federal legislators on a special election center page. You can view the ratings and find more information here.



bottom of page