top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIM Team

AIM congratulates new leadership trio in Missouri Senate

Sen. Ron Richard

Sen. Ron Richard

Associated Industries of Missouri congratulates and looks forward to working with new President Pro Tem of the Senate, Sen. Ron Richard (R-Joplin), Majority Floor Leader, Sen. Mike Kehoe (R-Jefferson City) and Assistant Floor Leader, Sen. Bob Onder (R-St. Charles).

The Senators were elected to their new positions by Republican members of the Senate during a party caucus Tuesday, and affirmed by the full Senate during Wednesday’s veto session at the State Capitol.

Senator Richard becomes the first person to ever serve as Speaker of the Missouri House of Representatives and President Pro Tem of the Senate, the two highest leadership offices in each body. Sen. Richard is a staunch ally of manufacturing and business, having authored and sponsored several pieces of legislation over his nearly 12 years in office aimed at helping existing businesses grow and new businesses more easily locate in Missouri.

Sen. Mike Kehoe

Sen. Mike Kehoe

Before coming to Jefferson City, Richard, a small businessman, served several terms as mayor of Joplin.

Senator Mike Kehoe of Jefferson City served last session as Assistant Floor Leader. He is a businessman who previously owned the Ford-Lincoln-Mercury dealership in Jefferson City and before that, founded a business that converts commercial vans in to specialized vehicles, including ambulances.

Last session, Sen. Kehoe, among other things, sponsored AIM-supported legislation that reduces the number of weeks of unemployment benefits when the unemployment rate is low and prohibits a former employee with a severance package from collecting unemployment while receiving the severance pay. Senate Bill 150 was vetoed by Governor Nixon, but the legislature overrode the veto Wednesday.

Senator Bob Onder is the new Assistant Floor Leader. He has been a physician and

Sen. Bob Onder

Sen. Bob Onder

small businessman in St. Charles for the last 20 years. He was elected to the Senate in

2014. Previously, he served in the Missouri House in 2007 and 2008.



bottom of page